Serving people with vision and hearing loss throughout North Carolina

VI Resources

We invite you to browse through the following resource links regarding blind and visual impairment. We welcome you to send us related links not listed on this page.

Magnified Life -products for people with low vision, including the VisioBook, VisioDesk and the Visio 22. https://www.magnifiedlife.us/

AERBVI- The Association for the Education and Rehabilitation of the Blind and Visually Impaired, visit http://aerbvi.org/

Accessibyte- typing programs and accessible games for students with vision impairments  https://www.accessibyte.com/

Ambutech- for cane orders, visit http://ambutech.com/

American Printing House for the Blind (APH)- products for the visually impaired, visit http://www.aph.org/

BLIZZ- screen sharing instructions (connect a student’s laptop or tablet to the teacher’s computer/smartboard/document camera) BLIZZ SCREEN SHARING INSTRUCTIONS

Braille Challenge- annual braille competition by Braille Institute, hosted locally by Eye Shine Foundation  https://brailleinstitute.org/braille-challenge/

Division of Services for the Blind- register students ages 14 and up with Transition Counselor. http://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dsb

Eye Retreat- camp for visually impaired youth led by visually impaired mentors, www.eyeretreat.org

Eye Shine Foundation- non-profit recreational group for youth with visual impairments in the Triangle, visit www.eyeshinefoundation.org

Focus on Literacy Program at Winston-Salem Industries for the Blind- provides free evaluations and equipment for students across NC, visit http://www.wsifb.com/about-us/a-brighter-path-foundation.aspx

Goalball- high intensity sport for blind or blindfolded players. The Raleigh Avengers play on Friday nights at Governor Morehead School for the Blind, Raleigh. Contact Alan Chase at aachase1@gmail.com

Governor Morehead School for the Blind- North Carolina’s State School for the Blind. http://www.governormorehead.net/

Independent Living Aids- products for persons with disabilities, visit http://www.independentliving.com/

High-Heeled TVI Blog- fun, sassy and raw Blog all about VI! https://highheeledtvi.wordpress.com/

Maxi Aids- products for persons with disabilities, visit http://www.maxiaids.com/store/default.asp

NC-AER Chapter- join the NC chapter of the AER professional organization, www.ncaer.net

NC Department of Public Instruction (DPI), Visually Impaired Consultant- Crystal Patrick crystal.patrick@dpi.nc.gov

Paths to Literacy- for students who are blind or visually impaired. http://www.pathstoliteracy.org/

Paths to Technology- Educators, families, and students can share information about technology for students with visual impairments and blindness. http://www.perkinselearning.org/technology

SEE CAMPS by Brighter Path Foundation- day camps and overnight camps for visually impaired youth in Winston-Salem and Asheville, contact Jay Hardwig at jhardwig@ifbsolutions.org

Teaching Students with Visual Impairments- a tremendous resource for anyone involved in the education of students who are blind or visually impaired, visit http://www.teachingvisuallyimpaired.com/

Technology Considerations for Students with Visual Impairments (Low Vision)– Equal Eyes Vision Services document comparing laptops, iPads, and Galaxy tablet

TSBVI (Texas School for the Blind and Visually Impaired)- layers and layers of resources for the VI field, visit http://www.tsbvi.edu/

VISSIT- tool for determining appropriate amounts of itinerant VI service delivery visit http://www.tsbvi.edu/vissit

The Working Therapist – 2-part podcast, “An Overview of Vision Impaired Services.”

Wonder Baby- resources for parents and teachers of blind and disabled children, visit http://www.wonderbaby.org/

You Tube Channel: resource for accessible technology for blind and visually impaired, visit https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCSsHoghKRJ8VEm7U1s7KKjg

Call 919-480-8800